This Day in History: 2022-03-08

March 8
1951: Drummer John Hannah ( Terry Crawford Band, Crackers, Major Hoople’s Boarding House) is born in Hamilton.

1965: Wes Dakus‘ “Hobo” peaks on the Canadian chart at #35.

1970: The Band is in Providence, Rhode Island for a show at RI University.

1972: Gordon Lightfoot releases his OLD DAN’S RECORDS album.

1974: BTO is in Chicago for a show at the Chicago Theatre.

1977: Denise McCann releases the single, “Tattoo Man.”

1979: Gino Vannelli is in Charlotte, North Carolina for a show at the Coliseum.

1980: April Wine is in London, England for a show at the Hammersmith Odeon.

1980: Dick Gardiner is in Stephenville, NFLD at Clode Sound Productions, working on what would become his HEADIN’ BACK TO NEWFIE album later that year.

1988: Chalk Circle opens for Rush on the second of a two-night stint at Toronto’s Maple Leaf Gardens.

1988: Honeymoon Suite release their RACING AFTER MIDNIGHT album.

1990: Rush is in Auburn Hills, Michigan for a show at The Palace.

1991: Ian Tyson appears on the American TV show, Texas Connection, performing “Navajo Rug.”

1995: Kim Mitchell is in Edmonton for a show at Thunderdome.

2008: Nickelback is at Mountain View Studios in Abbotsford, BC recording what would become their DARK HORSE album later that year.

2008: Sara Blackwood releases her debut solo album, WAY BACK HOME.

2011: Avril Lavigne releases her GOODBYE LULLABYE album.

2013: Coney Hatch is in Etobicoke, Ontario for a show at Rockpile.

2014: Trooper, Loverboy, and Bachman & Turner play CanadaFest – a party celebrating all that is Canada – in Phoenix, Arizona, where many Canadians spend their winters.

2016: Hey Romeo release the single, “Ride With Me.”

2017: Arapacis, Potion 13, and Heaven’s Cry open for Uli Jon Roth at Katacombs in Montreal.

2018: Sheepdogs release their latest single and video, “Nobody.”

2019: Helix and Kick Axe kick off the 2019 touring season in Edmonton at Century Casino.

2019: Bill Bourne is in Edmonton at St Basil’s Cultural Centre, along with his Tri-Contential bandmates, Lester Quitzau and Madagascar Slim. Opening is Sam The Living.

2019: Dave Gunning releases his new single, “Ferris Wheel.”