l-r Doug Baynham, Kim Hunt, Wayne Siberry Often confused with a band from New York with the same name, Urgent was formed in Toronto during the hey-day of heavy metal’s hairdays. The group’s origins began when drummer Kim Hunt left Zon (also formerly of Island and Bond) in ’82, and hooked up with Doug Baynham and guitarist Wayne Siberry.

With Baynham handling bass and the majority of the vocals, they began a daily regiment of practice, write and audition, practically living in the studios for the next several months. They added keboardist John McGoldrick for touring purposes and quickly established themselves as one of the hotter new heavy acts on the Ontario circuit, graduating before long to shows across the country – catching the attention of Epic Records execs along the way. They submitted a 3-song demo and were signed to a deal in the spring of ’83.

Oshawa’s Glen Johansen was brought in to produce the album. His vast resume included working with Ronnie Hawkins, Eddie Grant, Martha & The Muffins, Nash The Slash, and FM. The result was a slick edge to a keyboard-dominated metal sound with a thunderous backbeat and tight guitar solos. Recorded at Johansen’s Toronto studio Integrated Sound, guest appearances on the lp included guitarist Stacy Heydon (Teenage Head, Iggy Pop, David Bowie) and Sheriff & Frozen Ghost’s Arnold Lanni on synthesizers.

TIMING was released that summer and the lead single “You’re Not The One” was expected to capitalize on the trend of long-haired good musicians writing above average pop-metal. Producer/guitarist Stacy Heydon and Arnold Lanni (Sheriff, Frozen Ghost) on synthesizers were special guests on the record. Backed by “Too Hot To Handle”, the song cracked the Top 20, winding up on several ‘K-tel Special’ type compilations. All ten tracks were compilations between Baynham, Hunt & Siberry. “Cat On The Prowl” & the lead-off “Killer Love” was released as a 12″ single before the 45 for “Deagan (Love You Leave You). Other noteable tracks included “Keeper Of My Heart”, “Midnight Lover” and “Bad News”.

After a cross-country tour the group quietly disbanded the next year amid shuffling within CBS, who were leaning toward acts more on the Platinum Blonde/Duran Duran end of the spectrum. They would all go on to other projects in later years, In 1985, both Hunt and Baynham would form a band called Mach IV with guitarist Scott Sutherland (a long-time writing partner of Hunt’s) and bass player Chris Brockway (Wrabit, Rik Emmett, Lee Aaron, Hanover Fist). Mach IV placed 3rd in the 1985 Q-107 Homegrown contest riding the strength of Baynham’s vocals with the Sutherland penned song “Evelaine”. “We did tons of recording during the tenure of the White Boys, but were basically us plugging away at the original material while we were touring the Foreigner tribute,” Sutherland said. Brockway eventually departed to tour with Lee Aaron, and bassist Jim Samson (Zon, Moxy) was recruited.

In 1986, Mach IV changed their name to The Dirty White Boys and toured a Foreginer tribute show throughout most of Canada, but continued to write and record many original songs. In 1987 keyboardist and second guitarist John McGoldrich from Urgent was added. Although The Dirty White Boys/Mach IV recorded enough original material for at least two albums, their only release was a rare four-song promo EP cassette called FOURPLAY, produced by Stacey Heydon. They disbanded in 1990.

Hunt would go on to also work with Hanover Fist, as well as Lee Aaron, Vice Lords, a Rod Stewart tribute and Moxy. Johansen operated Toronto’s Integrated Sound for a few years, as well as working with Mick Jagger and released a self-titled solo album in 1987. In 1994, Long Island Records remastered and reissued the album on CD, limited to a run of 2,000 copies, but included no bonus material.


bondhanover fistislandmoxyzon